Drunk driving is a serious offense that can take innocent lives and cause repercussions lasting a lifetime. Too many intoxicated drivers fail to learn their lesson the first time they face a DUI conviction, though. Repeat DUI offenders are some of the most dangerous drivers on the road, and Wisconsin has taken steps to prevent such drivers from continuously putting everybody else on the road at risk.
If you have been charged with a DUI-related crime, there are a few things you should know about the new law that Wisconsin passed in March. Consider the following facts, and think about consulting with a legal representative to obtain defense against the charges you are facing.
Four strikes means revocation
According to Fox 6, SB 135 makes it so that any driver with four or more DUI-related convictions will be subject to permanent revocation of her or his license. This includes offenses such as operating while intoxicated, homicide by negligent operation of a vehicle and homicide by OWI. If a person is convicted of any such offense four or more times, the law mandates that his or her license be permanently revoked.
Potential additional jail time
In addition to mandatory license revocation after four convictions, the law mandates that drivers who continue driving after a revocation will be subject to an additional year of jail time. This means that in addition to the jail time incurred from the original DUI convictions, you can expect another year to be tacked on if you are caught driving after your license is revoked.
Parameters for time of conviction
The law stipulates certain parameters for convictions that qualify. To have each offense qualify as one of the four, the fourth conviction must happen no more than 15 years after the previous conviction. If all four offenses do take place within 15 years, a driver will be subject to permanent loss of driving privileges.