72-Hour No Contact Requirement in Domestic Abuse Cases
On behalf of J. Kippa Law, LLC | March 18, 2021
After a defendant is arrested for a domestic abuse offense, according to the Wisconsin Statutes, a 72 hour no-contact requirement is imposed. This means that the defendant is not allowed to contact the victim, or go to the victim’s residence for 72 hours. This can cause significant issues, as in many cases, the victim’s residence is your current residence. Going to the residence of the individual listed as the victim, or trying to contact them in any way is considered a crime in Wisconsin.
At J. Kippa Law, LLC we understand that misunderstandings, a night of drinking and other issues can lead to severe charges that impact the rest of a person’s life. We also understand that allegations of domestic abuse have harsh impacts. We are dedicated to helping our clients every step of the way and know what options may be available to get criminal charges dismissed or reduced.