fbpx
Call Today! 920-280-6821

Call For A Free Consultation
920-280-6821

☰ Menu
Contact

A Path Forward.

COVID-19 Update: Our firm will remain open during this crisis. Please contact us to schedule a meeting. We are equipped with the technology to take a meeting by video or phone if needed. Learn More »

How can a drug charge affect my personal and college life?

On behalf of J. Kippa Law, LLC | November 7, 2019

College teaches some students independence and how to function on their own. For others, college is a time to act out and challenge the system.

For you, your college career brings you closer to your dream job and the life you have always wanted. But as with some students, you find yourself in a situation you never intended – arrested for drug possession.

Combined punishments

Although the college police are the ones who arrested you, both school and regular criminal codes may apply. The University of Wisconsin prohibits the use of controlled substances on all university property. This regulation ties into Chapter 961 of the Wisconsin statute, which is the Uniform Controlled Substances Act.

University punishment

The University of Wisconsin considers drug possession nonacademic misconduct. Disciplinary sanctions may include the following:

  • A written reprimand
  • Disciplinary probation
  • Removal from a current course
  • Enrollment restrictions
  • Suspension
  • Expulsion

Criminal charges

Wisconsin separates controlled substances into five different schedules. The penalties for each are extensive but depend on the drug and its categorization.

  1. Schedule I is LSD, PCP, heroin and THC.
  2. Schedule II includes cocaine, opium, codeine, morphine, amphetamines and methadone.
  3. Schedule III, IV and V drugs are sometimes nonnarcotic and prescribed for medical purposes.

For a first offense, Wisconsin statutes consider marijuana, cocaine, methamphetamine and LSD as misdemeanors. Penalties range from six months in jail and a $1000 fine to one-year imprisonment with a $5000 fine. A second offense is a felony with 3 ½-year jail term and $10,000 fine. A first offense for heroin is a felony with up to a 3 ½-year imprisonment and $10,000 fine.

With a conviction of drug possession, your dream job and your future may be at risk. If this is your first charge, the court could place you on probation with conditions. Once you fulfill the terms and conditions, the court may discharge you without further proceedings. Depending on your case, there may be a number of defenses, including unlawful search and seizure, and whether the drugs are genuinely controlled substances.

Share this post:

READY FOR A FREE CONSULTATION?
START HERE.


Your attorney's experience can make all the difference when your future is on the line. Learn how attorney Jeffrey Kippa can help you move forward. Call 920-280-6821