fbpx
Call Today! 920-280-6821

Call For A Free Consultation
920-280-6821

☰ Menu
Contact

A Path Forward.

COVID-19 Update: Our firm will remain open during this crisis. Please contact us to schedule a meeting. We are equipped with the technology to take a meeting by video or phone if needed. Learn More »

Wisconsin’s New Mandatory Sentencing For Repeated OWI Convictions

On behalf of J. Kippa Law, LLC | March 16, 2020

Motorists facing a fifth or sixth charge for operating while intoxicated may require a strong defense to avoid a serious felony-level punishment. On February 28, 2020, Wisconsin’s governor signed into law tougher penalties for OWI offenses. Individuals convicted of a fifth or sixth OWI may receive a mandatory minimum sentence of at least six to 18 months of imprisonment.

Prior to the law’s passage, approximately 42,000 Wisconsin residents had a fifth or sixth OWI offense that resulted in conviction. As reported by WTMJ-TV, many of those motorists did not receive a punishment that required incarceration. They may have instead paid a mandatory fine or had their driver’s license suspended.

An individual may serve a sentence on probation 

Individuals convicted of OWI may enter into a bargain with the court and ask to serve part of the new mandatory sentence on probation. Because housing an individual in jail requires using taxpayer-funded resources, a prosecutor may approve a punishment that does not include serving an entire sentence behind bars. In situations where there were no bodily injuries or property damage, an individual may have a better chance of the court considering penalties that do not require lengthy imprisonment.

A defendant may contest OWI charges

A Wisconsin judge may now sentence offenders to jail time of up to 10 years if convicted of a fifth or sixth offense. To receive a lesser penalty, a motorist may contest the evidence used to determine his or her impairment at the time of arrest.

A law enforcement official must have probable cause to pull a motorist over before administering a roadside breath test. If a driver swerved off the road, ran a red light or drove over the speed limit, an officer may stop his or her vehicle.

During the traffic stop, a motorist must also show signs of impairment such as slurred speech or a strong odor of alcohol. Without these conditions, an officer may not have cause to request a motorist to submit to a breath test. A strong defense may contest the charges under these circumstances.

Share this post:

READY FOR A FREE CONSULTATION?
START HERE.


Your attorney's experience can make all the difference when your future is on the line. Learn how attorney Jeffrey Kippa can help you move forward. Call 920-280-6821