Category: OWI

Any legal matter can bring about an unprecedented amount of stress. Criminal charges, however, are often the toughest for individuals to face. If you have ever been pulled over by a police officer while on the road, or even arrested after the fact, you must have felt a pit in your stomach, as you wondered what would become of this moment. An incident that often lands drivers in this situation is the decision to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. More commonly known as a DUI, this scenario can also be described as an OWI, or operating while intoxicated. If you are facing your first DUI in Wisconsin, the matter should not be taken lightly. 

What can lead to a first offense DUI in Wisconsin?

OWI charges generally start by being flagged for reckless driving, swerving between lanes, running red lights, causing a wreck, or other modes of erratic driving that would alert an officer that something is amiss. Field sobriety testing is important. After a breath test or blood test, a determination of your blood alcohol content will be made. When facing OWI convictions, jail time is usually on the table, in addition to the possibility of a notice of intent of license suspension as outlined under Wisconsin law regarding a first offense OWI in Wisconsin, or even halting your ability to apply for an occupational license. A penalty for a first DUI in Wisconsin can vary though. With a first offense OWI in Wisconsin comes many charges and penalties. Offenders are charged a $150-$300 fine, as well as a $435 OWI surcharge fee. Penalties consist of the revocation of driver’s license for 6-9 months or more, or a 24/7 sobriety program with a duration of one year. Another preventative measure taken could be to install an ignition interlock — a device that prevents a driver from starting their car until a breathalyzer is passed. With a;; that being said, this offense in Wisconsin is a serious one. Follow the link to learn more: https://wisconsindot.gov/documents/safety/education/drunk-drv/owi-penchrt.pdf

Our Attorneys Understand First Offense DUIs.

Facing your first OWI in Wisconsin does not have to be the end of your story. If you are looking for an experienced OWI attorney in Appleton Wi continue on to read more about our work. With years of experience and a reputation that precedes us, we have successfully assisted many clients just like you have their first offense DUI in Wisconsin be reduced or dismissed as a whole. We know that this time may be scary, but you do not have to go through it alone. At our firm, we truly stand on the principle that knowledge is power, and want to ensure that our clients feel as confident as we do progressing throughout their case. From your initial consultation throughout the process, we will be by your side. https://www.jkippalaw.com/dui-owi/

The breath tests administered when someone is under suspicion of drunk driving are so entrenched in our society that the Breathalyzer brand has reached the level of Kleenex, becoming the common name used for all breath tests.

You may know the name Breathalyzer, but we think the following three facts are crucial for you to remember if an officer stops you on suspicion of drunk driving.

 1. You Can Choose Not to Submit to a Breathalyzer Test

You are within your rights to decide not to submit to a breath test unless the police have a warrant, but there are consequences to making that choice. Refusing to submit to a breath test can result in the revocation of your driving privileges. You will have 10 days to request a court hearing after refusing a breath or blood test.

 2. You Will Have To Make That Choice Without the Advice of a Lawyer

Your fifth and sixth amendment rights generally don’t apply to traffic stops. Telling the officers that you wish to speak to a lawyer before submitting to a test can be considered a refusal, exposing you to the consequences that come with that decision.

 3. All Tests are Not Treated Equally

The portable breath test administered during a traffic stop is considered a “preliminary breath test”. The “official” breath test is administered using different equipment. Refusing the preliminary breath test will typically not result in the revoking a driver’s license, but refusing the official test will.

Your attorney's experience can make all the difference when your future is on the line. Learn how attorney Jeffrey Kippa can help you move forward.

Call 920-733-1100