If you have been accused of a sex crime in Wisconsin, you need a great lawyer. Jeffrey Kippa is one who will stand up for your rights and do his best to defend your freedom. These kinds of charges involving contact with a person can affect the rest of your life, and you need our help to fight them and get the best possible outcome.

 

There are four degrees of sexual assault in Wisconsin. Note that in Wisconsin, as in some other states, the word “rape” is not used in a legal context or sexual assault defense. Those engaged in sexual assault cases should be educated on these four distinct types of sexual assault cases, in order to properly understand the local and national regulations regarding which degree that your charges may potentially involve. In order for you to have confidence throughout your case, our legal team at J Kippa law wants to ensure that you are well prepared for whatever may come your way during the process.

First Degree Sexual Assault

First degree sexual assault is a serious charge Class B felony, that can result in potential penalties of up to 60 years in prison when it is determined that a person is guilty in a worst case scenario. It is defined as sexual contact or intercourse involving sexual penetration without consent that:

  • Results in a pregnancy presented by the victim of the sexual assault.

  • Causes the victim visible or internal great bodily harm, or someone is left physically helpless as a result of the act.

  • Involves the use of a dangerous weapon.

  • Involves force or coercion or the threat of violence.

  • Involves one or more other people.

You will also have to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life. Once on the registry, you should know that you will likely find it difficult or unfortunately even impossible to find employment or housing, as anyone can easily find out what you did and make determinations based on that judgement.

Second Degree Sexual Assault

Second degree sexual assault is a charge that will result in the dealing of a Class C felony, which can be at its highest level punished by up to 40 years in prison and a hefty fine of up to $100,000 to be paid. This classification covers sexual contact or intercourse carried out without consent that:

  • Involves the use of force or the presence of a threat of violence.

  • Results in injury, impending disease, or mental harm that ends up requiring intensive or psychiatric care.

  • Involves a victim who suffers from a mental illness or deficiency that would prevent them from giving proper consent.

  • Involves a victim who is unconscious, intoxicated, or otherwise unable to give consent.

  • Involves one or more other people.

It is also automatically second degree sexual assault if the perpetrator is a parole officer or prison officer and the victim is a parolee or prisoner. In this case as well, You will also have to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life, which will be present on all public record, and available for search by any potential landlord or future employer.

Third Degree Sexual Assault

The act of Third degree sexual assault is a level of punishment known as a Class G felony, which in the worst case scenario can bring up sentences  to up to 10 years in prison and can include a steep fine of up to $25,000 at most. Third degree sexual assault is sexual intercourse that occurs, and could have occurred along with the excretion of other bodily fluids from the perpetrator such as ejaculating, urinating, or defecating on the victim in question. If convicted of third degree sexual assault, you will have to register as a sex offender list for 15 years before you can be removed.

Fourth Degree Sexual Assault

Fourth degree sexual assault is any kind of sexual contact, without consent, that occurs other than the act of physical intercourse. I.e., this might include groping, fondling, or other inappropriate touching that occurs without consent of the other party, or occurring to someone under the age of consent which is 16 years. This charge  is a Class A misdemeanor that can result in penalties of up to 9 months in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000 at most.

With all of this in mind, it may be clear now that even what may seem to you as a minor sexual assault can have significant consequences that can impact your life, finances, employment, housing, and future in the long term. The concept of having to register as a sex offender can limit your freedom and opportunities even after prison. If you are fighting these charges, contact J. Kipper Law Office, LLC to find out how we can help you with your case.

At J. Kippa Law, LLC, you want representation as early as possible. You will work directly with criminal defense attorney Jeffrey Kippa and his team throughout your case. Call 920-733-1100 or contact the law firm online to discuss your situation.